Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

Sports News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

Regular season champs also claim tournament titles

There were no “bracket busters.” The top seeds came out on top.

The Middlesex Youth Basketball League’s three divisions each had undefeated regular season champions, and those same teams won last Saturday’s tournament titles in the John S. Clements Memorial Gymnasiun at Middlesex High School.

The closest game was in the Senior Boys Division as Doc Jones Used Auto Parts held off a fourth quarter rally by EASI Printing and won 43-41.

The three champions, The Allen Group, Ryman’s Heating & Air Conditioning and Doc Jones UAP all finished with 8-0 records. Saturday’s championship game results were as follows:

Members of the Girls Division regular season and tournament champion The Allen Group (8-0) are, front from left, Chloe Hodges, Victoria Snyder, Aniyah Thompson, Airianna Beverley, and coach Emilee Smith; back row, coach Tony Kimble, Molly Brown, Autumn Wiedman, Sarah Walton, Shannon Brown, Kysearia Ackies and coach Charles Dixson.

Girls Division
Allen Group 18
Eubanks Trucking 7

Allen Group (18): Sarah Walton 8, Chloe Hodges 5, Molly Brown 1, Airianna Beverley 2, Autumn Wideman 2.
Eubanks Trucking (7): Amber Self 3, Lyndsey Holmes 4.

Members of the MYBL Junior Boys Division regular season and tournament champion Ryman’s Heating & Air Condition (8-0) are, front from left, Antonio Smith, Wyatt Brown, Peyton Bishop, Alex Bullock and Chase Bunting; back row, coach Mike Reed. Emmanuel Webster, assistant coach Jaden Reed, Adam Smith, Antonio Bagby, Austin Lucas, Jamari Henderson, and coach Wayne Jessie. Not pictured is Malachi Dandy.

Junior Boys Division
Ryman’s Heating A/C 30
Pitts Lumber 15

Ryman’s (30): Adam Smith 9, Antonio Bagby 6, Wyatt Brown 1, Alex Bullock 4, Antonio Smith 10.
Pitts Lumber (15): Jaylyn Ruffin 4, Kenyon Parker 1, Camren Hammond 1, Jakim Lomax 2, Austin Hall 7.

Members of the Senior Boys Division regular season and tournament champion Doc Jones Used Auto Parts (8-0) are, front from left, Logan Snyder, Brandon Ward, Matthew Hart and Hunter Ward; back row, coach Charles Dixson, Elijah Darnell, Gregory Camp, Tamaje Jones, Zach Davis and coach Tony Kimble. Not pictured is Stephen Davis.

Senior Boys Division
Doc Jones Used Auto Parts 43
EASI Printing 41

Doc Jones (43): Zach Davis 8, Elijah Darnell 4, Tamaje Jones 27, Matthew Hart 2, Brandon Ward 2.
EASI Printing (41): Deandre Jessie 4, Jomari Gonzales 6, Jaden Reed 10, Isaiah Burse 8, Quentin Goodman 2, Simon Unsworth 11.

posted 04.02.2014

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.