Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

Sports News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

Arthur returns to win Late Model feature at VMS

Click on the video above and feel the adrenaline at Virginia Motor Speedway.  (Shot and edited by Mike Kucera)
Walker Arthur of Forest finished the 2008 season as the Victory Lap Late Model Champion at Virginia Motor Speedway at Jamaica in Middlesex County. On Saturday, August 15, he returned for the first time in 2009 and showed everyone why he took home the championship crown last year.

Starting 12th, Arthur quickly worked his way into contention for the lead by lap 3 as he battled for third. On lap 11 Arthur got inside Anthony Kincaid for second. The two battled side by side for the next few laps with both going for the lead on lap 14 three wide into turn 1 with then leader Joey Bounds.

When the dust settled in turn 2, Arthur had powered around the outside to take the lead. Kincaid tried several times to get inside Arthur for the lead only to be turned away as Arthur cruised on to the win in his #87 Cecil B. Arthur Enterprises sponsored Chevrolet Monte Carlo Rocket.

Rounding out the top five were Anthony Kincaid, Tom Cohick, Tyler Bailey and Scott Adams.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway will take next week off as The Pit at Virginia Motor Speedway will host the second of three big Mud Bog and Mud Sling events for 2009 on Saturday, August 22. The End of Summer Mud Bog presented by Rappahannock Tractor and Chandler Chevrolet will feature seven classes of “Mud Maniacs” in action ranging from street to unlimited with cash payouts in all classes.

Not only will fans get to see hordes of trucks splashing through the 200 foot Mud Bog pit, but they will also get the opportunity to see some of the regions best Mud Dragsters covering the 200 foot Mud Sling pit in under three seconds.

Gates and registration will open at 10 a.m. Rules for each class are now available at

The speedway will return back to racing on Saturday, August 29, to host VA Army National Guard/Rappahannock Tractor/WRAR/WNNT Night featuring all five divisions of VA Army National Guard Dirt Series action.

To enhance the fans racing experience the speedway has installed a short wave FM transmitter and all of the evening’s action can be heard at 95.5 FM. So bring portable radio headsets and enjoy hearing all the action called by our talented announcer.

To learn more about Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway, call the speedway office at 758-1VMS or visit

The top 10 finishers in each division last Saturday were as follows:

  • Late Models (22 entries)
    1. Walker Arthur, Forest; 2. Anthony Kincaid, Hayes; 3. Tom Cohick, Gloucester; 4. Tyler Bailey, Chesterfield; 5. Scott Adams, Chester; 6. Stephen Evans, Tyner, N.C.; 7. Brett Carlton, Mechanicsville; 8. Ben Bowie, Brandywine, Md.; 9. Vaughan Haywood, Deltaville; 10. Davis Lipscombe, Mechanicsville.
  • Sportsman (14 entries)
    1. Roger Jamerson, Glen Allen; 2. Todd Traylor, King William; 3. Tim Shelton, Fredericksburg; 4. Tony Wood, New Kent; 5. Tommy Upshaw, West Point; 6. Michael Hayes, Ruther Glen; 7. J.R. Guy, Mechanicsville, Md.; 8. Wayne Carroll, Fredericksburg; 9. John Kirby, Sandston; 10. Rusty Steele, Providence Forge.
  • Modifieds (17 entries)
    1. Dan Arnold, Petersburg; 2. Brian Maxey, King George; 3. James Marshall, Saint Leonard, Md.; 4. John Ferguson, Gloucester; 5. Charles Gagnon, Mechanicsville, Md.; 6. Wayne Taylor, Tappahannock; 7. Brandon Cohick, Gloucester; 8. Jack Foulkes, Fairfax Station; 9. Josh Harris, Gloucester; 10. Tony Quade, Leonardtown, Md.
  • Sprint Cars (8 entries)
    1. Kyle Pruitt, Ijamsville, Md.; 2. Mary Anne Williams, Chester; 3. Troy Severin, Ashland; 4. Ryan Price, Ashland; 5. James Hawk, Maidens; 6. Tom Humphries, Waynesboro; 7. Daren Bolac, Moyock, N.C.; 8. Michael Tolley, Ashland.
  • Limited Stock (19 entries)
    1. Brett Adkins, Gloucester; 2. Wesley Givens, New Kent; 3. Ryan Toole, Richmond; 4. Marty Coltrain, Richmond; 5. Paul Bess, Quantico; 6. Joe Ender, Glen Allen; 7. Raymond Harper, Gloucester; 8. Mark Guthrie, Port Republic, Md.; 9. John Hankins Sr., Jamaica; 10. Mike Butler, Richmond.

posted 08.19.2009

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.