Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

Sports News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

Allen Group, Ryman’s Heating/AC, and Doc Jones win tournament titles

Members of Doc Jones Used Auto Parts (4-4), tournament champions of the Senior Boys Division in the Middlesex Youth Basketball League, are, front from left, Hunter Ward, Gregory Camp, Elijah Darnell, Kenneth Reed, Thomas Redmon, Kendrick Reed and Zachary Davis; back row, coach Anthony Kimble, Tamase Jones, coach Charles Dixson and Stephen Davis. (Photo by Stephen Blue)

Regular season champions The Allen Group and Ryman’s Heating and Air Conditioning completed perfect 8-0 seasons last Saturday en route to winning tournament championships in the Middlesex Youth Basketball League.

In the most thrilling game of the day, 4th-seeded Doc Jones Used Auto Parts edged 2nd-seeded Harrow’s Home Center 47-45 in overtime to win the Boys Senior Division Tournament title.

Emilie Smith scored 15 points and Sarah Walton added 11 to lead The Allen Group to the Girls Division title with a 34-9 win over Hurd’s Hardware.

Check out a slide show of the action.

Adam Smith tallied 8 points to lead well-balanced Ryman’s Heating and Air Conditioning past the Southside Sentinel 25-9 for the Junior Boys Division title. It was Ryman’s AC fifth straight Junior Boys championship. Mison Williams scored 4 points to pace the Southside Sentinel.

In its win, Doc Jones UAP had eight different players score as it rallied from a 7-point halftime deficit to nip Harrow’s HC 47-45 in overtime. Tamaje Jones led Doc Jones UAP with 16 points. Raquan Marshall scored 17 for Harrow’s HC and Tyler Scott added 13.

Results of last Saturday’s tournament championship games in the Middlesex Youth Basketball League (MYBL) are as follows:

Girls Division
Allen Group 34
Hurd’s Hardware 8
Allen Group (34):
Sarah Parker 6, Molly Brown 2, Emilie Smith 15, Sarah Walton 11.
Hurd’s Hardware (8): Cameron Ward 2, Macie Daniel 2, Lane Anderson 2, Brooke Daniel 2.

Senior Boys Division
Doc Jones Used Auto 47
Harrow’s Home Center 45, OT
Doc Jones UAP (47):
Kendrick Reed 7, Kenneth Reed 6, Stephen Davis 2, Zachary Davis 9, Tamaje Jones 16, Elijah Darnell 2, Hunter Ward 3, Thomas Redmon 2.
Harrow’s HC (45): Keonte Norris 6, Dre Key 9, Raquan Marshall 17, Tyler Scott 13.

Junior Boys Division
Ryman’s Heating/AC 25
Southside Sentinel 9
Ryman’s Heating/AC (25):
Zaire Keyser 5, Jaden Reed 4, Antonio Bagby 2, Joseph Sears 2, Alex Bullock 4, Adam Smith 8.
Southside Sentinel (9): Mison Williams 4, Isiah Burse 3, Xavier Washington 2.

posted 03.20.2013

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.