Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

St. Margaret’s School wins RCC Math Contest

Winning first place in RCC’s annual Team Math Contest were, from left, Elaine Liu, Jo Deng and Charlene Lang of St. Margaret’s School in Tappahannock.
The Chesapeake Bay Governor’s School’s Glenns Campus team tied for third place in RCC’s annual Team Math Contest. From left are Elizabeth Ransone, Zach Kaylor and Ginna Jarvis.

On November 1 at both Rappahannock Community College campuses, three-student teams from Essex, King and Queen Central, King William, New Kent, Rappahannock (Richmond County), Washington and Lee (Westmoreland County) and West Point high schools, the Chesapeake Bay Governor’s schools at Glenns and Warsaw; and the private school of St. Margaret’s (Tappahannock) competed in the annual Team Math Contest.

The contest, organized by RCC developmental mathematics instructor Brenda Callis, consisted of 12 highly-challenging questions testing several branches of mathematics—geometry, algebra and pre-calculus. Each team worked together to solve the problems under the supervision of a proctor, and the teams had 60 minutes to complete as many questions as possible.

“The math contests allow high school faculty from our service regions to come together and become more familiar not only with the workings of each other’s schools, but also with some of the aspects of our college,” said Callis. “The students are excited about showing off their math and reasoning skills and winning recognition for their schools, and about the chance of receiving prizes.”

This year St. Margaret’s School captured first place with team members Jo Deng, Charlene Lang and Elaine Liu, while the West Point High School team of Milan Bhatia, Hayden Osbourne and Willow Pederson came in second.

The two Chesapeake Bay Governor’s School teams tied for third place; the Glenns Campus was represented by Ginna Jarvis, Zach Kaylor and Elizabeth Ransone, and the Warsaw Campus by Nicholas Jett, Chris Lee and Adam Parker.

Each of the winners received a commemorative t-shirt and a Walmart gift card: $50 for each of the three first-place team members; $35 for the second-place winners; and $25 for the third-place winners. Certificates of participation will be mailed to all contestants.

posted 01.22.2014

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.