Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

RCC graduates 29 Middlesex residents

The Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society for two-year colleges, was well represented among RCC’s Class of 2009. Thirty-eight of the 265 graduates were members. They are, first row from left, Joseph Stallings, Shelby Smith, Lacey Harver, Karissa Harbour, Alexandra Sherrill, Holly Gray, Maggie Goetz, Kendall Dean, Rebecca Hutchinson and Renee Humphrey; second row, Brittany Taylor, Kelly Bullis, Darlene Barry, Andrea Deskins, Christine Swinson, Cherri Turcotte, DeeDee Stern, Kyle Allwine and Lauren Clark; third row, Suzette Morse, Nathan Rose, Lisa Webster, Jessica Lynn and Tiffany Smith; and fourth row, Eric Lee, Bradley Hudgins, Michael Wagner, Althea Patrick and Stephen Husser.

On May 8 at Rappahannock Community College’s 37th Commencement ceremony, college officials bestowed 289 well-earned degrees and certificates on the 265 members of the Class of 2009.

The ceremony was held on the front lawn of the Warsaw Campus. RCC president Dr. Elizabeth Crowther made a special point of thanking the college’s maintenance staff for their excellent work in preparing the grounds for the occasion. “It reflects the care that our faculty and staff devote to their students, which helps them to grow as citizens, students, and workers,” she said.

In praising RCC’s faculty, Dr. Crowther particularly mentioned associate professor of health and physical education Gerald Horner, whose retirement this year will mark the departure of the last of the college’s original full-time instructors. In his 38 years at RCC, Horner has taken part in every commencement ceremony, as well as witnessing many other significant moments in the college’s history.

Ten members of the Class of 2009 were called to the podium by Dr. Gates to receive medallions recognizing them for graduating summa cum laude—with the highest honor—which are awarded only to those maintaining a grade-point average of 3.8 or better. These graduates were: Stephen Husser, Lacey Harver, Holly Gray, Karrissa Harbour, Nicholas Shoukas, Lauren Clark, Joseph Stallings, DeeDee Stern, Christine Swinson and Anne Wilkins. In addition, dual enrollment graduates Kyle Allwine and Nathan Rose received special honors at a banquet given for students of the Chesapeake Bay Governor’s School on May 20.

Graduates from Middlesex County included: Andrea S. Deskins, Matthew D. Dunlevy, Amelia V. Dunn, Elizabeth S. Favazza, Dolores A. Field, Jacqueline L. Forrer, Jennifer L. French, Cheryl D. Gentry, Garrett D. Gregory*, Emily F. Hines, Nicholas R. Hornbeck, Renee Humphrey*, Alvin B. Jones, Ashley I. Kirby*+, Audrey R. Lancaster, China Z. Long, Christian N. Marshall, Shelia M. Minor, Haley C. Painter, Michael G. Parker, Sarah A. Parsley, Callie J. Revere, Joy R. Sampson, Monika R. Skinner, Brittany E. Taylor, Monica L. Thurston, Sara M. Ward, William J. Watson, Katherine A. Wood-Pope†.

  • *Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society
  • +Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges
  • †Honors degree

posted 05.19.2009

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.