Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

Chesapeake Academy graduates seven

Chesapeake Academy’s Class of 2018 seated in front of the school’s historic willow oak graduated on June 4. In the back row from left are Elizabeth Stanley, Eden Stander, Adair Stanley, and Rebecca Meberg; front row, Duke Wolfson, Larkin Denton, and Jack Porter.

Chesapeake Academy held commencement exercises for the Class of 2018 on Tuesday, June 5. After an invocation by 2017-18 student council president Larkin Denton, head of school Julianne T. Duvall warmly welcomed the school community and conferred the school’s Head of School List certificates for the year.

Kathryn K. Vose, chair of the board of trustees, awarded the Norma Jean Edwards Volunteer Award to E. Michelle Ritter. This award, established in 2004, was named for one of the school’s all-time great volunteers, Norma Jean Edwards, and recognizes the parent volunteers who have worked tirelessly without hesitation, without reward, always putting the good of the academy and children first.

Jackson Olsen Pyles was awarded the C. Jackson Simmons Award. The C. Jackson Simmons Award for Excellence in History and English was established in 1999 in memory of one of Chesapeake Academy’s founders, local attorney C. Jackson Simmons.

The Pamela I. Herrell and the J.E. Bouis Athletic Awards are given to a girl and boy respectively for outstanding athletic achievement. This year’s recipients were Elizabeth Madison Stanley and John Edwin (Jack) Porter III.

The Tidewater Foundation Scholarship is given to a returning student in the middle school who is deemed valuable to the school. This scholarship was earned by Albert Clarkson (Ap) Pollard.

H. Hiter Harris Family Award was established in 1998 by the Hiter Harris family of Richmond to be awarded to a student who exhibits excellence in academics and citizenship. The 2015 Hiter Harris Family Award was earned by Calista Tatianna Jas Nelson.

Catherine E. Schroeder Award was established in 2001 by the alumni association to honor Catherine E. Schroeder. It is awarded to a deserving student, Leyton Edward Dew, who represents a fantastic work ethic, strong academics, high levels of participation and a big heart.

The Excellence in the Arts Award, established in 2006, is given at the discretion of the school’s arts team to the student excelling in aspects of the fine arts. Performance teacher Mrs. Robin Blake presented one of this year’s awards to Duke Lane Wolfson who earned Excellence in the Performing Arts. Art teacher Mrs. Sonja Smith presented the Excellence in the Visual Arts Award to Eden Duncombe Stander.

Larkin Christopher Denton is the 2018 recipient of Chesapeake Academy’s coveted Schroeder Cup, the school’s highest honor, which was established by Captain and Mrs. William A. Schroeder to recognize a middle school student who fully gave his/her all to school life: academically, athletically, and socially.

The Salutatorian Award is awarded for achieving the second highest academic average in grade eight. The recipient meets or exceeds expectations for conduct and work habits. This award is bestowed on Adair Rawles Stanley. 

The Head of School Award is awarded to Rebecca Kathleen Meberg for achieving the highest grade point average in the eighth grade. The recipient of this award must also meet or exceed standards for conduct, citizenship, and work habits.

Read the rest of this story in this week’s Southside Sentinel at newsstands throughout the county, or sign up here to receive a print and/or electronic pdf subscription.

posted 06.13.2018

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.