Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

Chesapeake Academy graduates seven

Members of the Chesapeake Academy Class of 2013 include, from left, Tyler Dunaway, Justyn Kreimes, Harley Haydon, Elijah Green, Libby Nashwinter, Jahlil Nickens and Monica Waddy.

Seven 8th-graders received diplomas on Tuesday, June 4, at the commencement ceremony held at Chesapeake Academy in Irvington. They are:

  • Adam Tyler Dunaway, grandson of Stuart and Jane Dunaway of Kilmarnock, who was awarded a Sandbox Award for attending Chesapeake Academy continually from two-day preschool through the eighth grade.

  • Elijah Shapard Green, son of Jonah Green and Sara Elmore of Heathsville.

  • Harley Jean Haydon, daughter of Melinda Lewis of Kilmarnock, who was awarded the Schroeder Cup, given to the student who has given his or her all to school life, academically, athletically, and socially.

  • Justyn Theodore Kreimes, son of Cheret Kreimes of White Stone.

  • Elizabeth Rebecca Nashwinter, daughter of Bill and Alissa Nashwinter of Irvington.

  • Jahlil Dwight Nickens, son of Dwight and Tekecia Nickens of Kilmarnock, who was awarded the J.E. Bouis Athletic Award for outstanding athletic accomplishment and the Headmaster’s Award for achieving the highest grade point average in the eighth grade.

  • Monica Emerald Waddy, daughter of Hortence Waddy of Irvington, who was awarded the Pamela I. Herrell Athletic Award for outstanding athletic accomplishment and the Salutatorian Award for achieving the second highest academic average in the eighth grade class.

Other awards presented at the commencement included:

  • The Tidewater Foundation Scholarship, given to a returning student in Middle School deemed valuable to the school, which was awarded to rising eighth-grader David Stinson, son of David and Kiersten Stinson of Irvington.

  • The H. Hiter Harris Scholarship, established in 1998 by the Hiter Harris Family of Richmond to be awarded to a student who exhibits excellence in academics and citizenship, was awarded to rising eighth-grader Aline Johnson, daughter of Burke and Susan Johnson of Irvington.

  • The Catherine E. Schroeder Scholarship, awarded to a deserving student who represents a fantastic work ethic, strong academics, high levels of participation and a big heart, was awarded to rising eighth-grader Erin McClain, daughter of Brian and Stephanie McClain of White Stone.

  • The Norma Jean Edwards Volunteer Award, established in 2004 to honor a parent volunteer or volunteers who have worked tirelessly for the benefit of the academy, was awarded to Stuart and Jane Dunaway of Kilmarnock and Margaret Nost of White Stone.

Certificates for kindergarten students were presented by Early Childhood Division head Elizabeth Clark. The ceremony was highlighted by a commencement address in the form of personal accolades to graduates from head of school Deborah M. Cook, a benediction by academic dean Julie Keesee, and the academy’s alma mater sung by everyone present.

posted 06.12.2013

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.