Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

Chesapeake Academy graduates 10

Members of Chesapeake Academy’s Class of 2019 are, seated from left, Calista Nelson, Callie Souders, Ryleigh Hornsmith and Claire Beitel; standing, Spencer Cammarata, Andrew Fulmer, Landon Reihs, Joness LaSalle-Bryant, Jarett Platsis and Stewart Hollingsworth.

Chesapeake Academy in Irvington held commencement exercises for the Class of 2019 on Tuesday, June 4. After an invocation by 2018-19 Student Council President Calista Nelson, Head of School Julianne T. Duvall warmly welcomed the school community and conferred the school’s Head of School List certificates for the year.

Kathryn K. Vose, chair of the board of trustees, awarded the Norma Jean Edwards Volunteer Award to Christina Cammarata. This award, established in 2004, was named for one of the school’s all time great volunteers, Norma Jean Edwards, and recognizes the parent volunteers who have worked tirelessly without hesitation, without reward, always putting the good of the academy and children first.

Reagan Harding, daughter of Nicole and Richard Harding, was awarded the C. Jackson Simmons Award. The C. Jackson Simmons Award for Excellence in History and English was established in 1999 in memory of one of Chesapeake Academy’s founders, local attorney C. Jackson Simmons.

The Pamela I. Herrell and the J.E. Bouis Athletic Awards are given to a girl and boy respectively for outstanding athletic achievement. This year’s recipients were Calista Nelson, daughter of Farida and Bernard Nelson, and Stewart Hart Hollingsworth, son of alumni Phoebe Rittenhouse Hollingsworth and Mark Hollingsworth.

The Tidewater Foundation Scholarship is given to a returning student in the middle school who is deemed valuable to the school. This scholarship was earned by Namiyah Andrews, daughter of Raquel Hodges-Andrews and James Andrews.

H. Hiter Harris Family Award was established in 1998 by the Hiter Harris family of Richmond to be awarded to a student who exhibits excellence in academics and citizenship. The 2019 Hiter Harris Family Award was earned by Robert Cunningham, son of Robin Cunningham and Robert Cunningham.

Catherine E. Schroeder Award was established in 2001 by the alumni association to honor Catherine E. Schroeder. It was awarded to a deserving student, Layla Leo, daughter of Lauren and Benjamin Leo, who represents a fantastic work ethic, strong academics, high levels of participation and a big heart.

The Excellence in the Arts Award, established in 2006, is given at the discretion of the school’s arts team to the student excelling in aspects of the fine and performing arts. Music Teacher Barbara Hays presented this year’s award to Jarett Platsis, son of Esther and Bill Glover.

Spencer Cammarata, son of Peter and Christina Cammarata, was the 2019 recipient of Chesapeake Academy’s Schroeder Cup, the school’s highest honor, which was established by Captain and Mrs. William A. Schroeder to recognize a middle school student who fully gave his/her all to school life: academically, athletically, and socially.

The Salutatorian Award is awarded for achieving the second highest academic average in grade eight. The recipient meets or exceeds expectations for conduct and work habits. This award was bestowed on two students this year who achieved the same grade point average. Claire Beitel, daughter of Kari and Richard Beitel, and Spencer Cammarata, son of Christina and Peter Cammarata.

The Head of School Award was awarded to Calista Nelson, daughter of Farida and Bernard Nelson, for achieving the highest grade point average in the eighth grade. The recipient of this award must also meet or exceed standards for conduct, citizenship, and work habits.

Read the rest of this story in this week’s Southside Sentinel at newsstands throughout the county, or sign up here to receive a print and/or electronic pdf subscription.

posted 06.12.2019

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.