Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

CCS to present Rappahannock Rhapsody, a musical revue

Cast and crew for Rappahannock Rhapsody includes Clay Robins (Richmond), Ben Roper (Richmond), Molly Smith (McLean), Eva Jasinski (Gloucester Point), Tori Forrest (Hartfield), Caroline Mattucci (Chapel Hill, NC) and Hailey Sundeen (Gloucester).

The Christchurch School Visual and Performing Arts Department is preparing for its annual winter production.

Under the direction of Mark Parsons, Rappahannock Rhapsody is an original revue compilation of the songs of George and Ira Gershwin.  More than a quarter of the student body is involved in this sweeping production that brings the charm and elegance of a 1930’s Supper Club to the Marston stage on the campus. 

Mr. Parsons has staged various revues throughout his teaching career and feels that the format provides more opportunity for individual growth and development.  The book and script for this show is written by CCS students under the guidance of Mrs. Lexi Byers.  This gives cohesion and a sense of flow to the various musical numbers that include time-honored favorites such as Wonderful, Embraceable You, Summertime, Slap that Bass, Someone to Watch Over Me and I Got Rhythm.  Senior soloists in the production include local students Mariah Alderman, Brook Davis, Betsy Rhoads, Reese Rogers and Braden Young.

Faculty members Melissa Bacon and Michael Carey lead crews for hospitality, business, marketing, stage design, light design and construction. 

Rappahannock Rhapsody will open to the public on Thursday, February 20 at 7:30 p.m. and run through Saturday, February 22.  Tickets are $5.00 and may be reserved in advance or purchased at the door as available. To purchase or reserve tickets e-mail

For additional information, please contact 758-2300 ext. 144.

posted 02.04.2014

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.