Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

Awards presented at Christchurch graduation

“Think. Put away the iPod, take out the earphones, turn off the TV, close the laptop, silence your phone. Let’s think.”
—Jeb Byers, CCS Headmaster

It was a beautiful Tidewater spring day as the Christchurch School community gathered on Headmaster’s Hill for the school’s 87th commencement ceremony.

Headmaster John E. Byers addressed the 52 seniors. “Christchurch School is about making you think. Think. Think about who you are, what you are becoming, and what you will be in the world. Great journeys begin at the river means understanding yourself, your world, and your place. Think. Think. Put away the iPod, take out the earphones, turn off the TV, close the laptop, silence your phone. Let’s think. Who are you?” said Byers.

Graduate Shelby Seitz of Middlesex exchanges a hug with Christchurch headmaster Jeb Byers after receiving her diploma Saturday.
Byers then named each graduate, remarking on the special, individual
gifts that each had brought to the school community. “I thank you for the 
gifts, the joys, and the very remarkable adventure of having you here, as
one of us . . . you have shaped this school, you are part of this history. Grow into the citizens of the world that you can become. Be your best self . . . be present . . . engage . . . reach high. Remember  your time on the river as a blessing of many dimensions that will never leave you and can always inspire something good in you. Make us proud of you in the future, as we are proud of you today, knowing that we love you now and always. Godspeed, 2009!” he said.

Byers and Vice Admiral John Craine ‘64, president of the school’s board of governors, conferred diplomas. Following the ceremony, the graduates rang the bell in the Bell Tower then passed through a receiving line of faculty before joining their families for a picnic luncheon under the tent.

Awards presented and their recipients included: Daniel Allen Price Superior Achievement Award recipient Matthew William Lawler of Alexandria; Edward Meeks Gregory Service Award recipient Eleanor Bryce Ward Smith of White Stone; Robert S. Phipps Progress Award recipient Kevin Miltz of Virginia Beach; and Chaplains Award recipient Coron Alexander Williams of Midlothian.

The school’s highest honor, the Bishop’s Award, went to Laura Chilton
Ransone of Kilmarnock.

The Valedictorian’s Award was presented to Hannah Katrin Lidicker of Irvington, who presented the valedictory address.

Other awards were presented to seniors the previous evening at the Senior Banquet. Recipients included the following: The Benjamn J. Bonaventura Baseball Award, Phillip James Jordan; Senior Sportsmanship Award, Thomas Joseph Williams and William Joshua Grier Greenslade; The Sailing Prize, William Joshua Grier Greenslade; Best All-Around Athlete, Coron Alexander Williams; Best All-Around Female Athlete, Eleanor Bryce Ward Smith; The Daniel T. Nolan Lacrosse Award, John Douglas Peterson; Jason Soucek Athletic Leadership Award, Thomas Joseph Williams; Performing Arts Prize ­(Drama), Eleanor Bryce Ward Smith; and Performing Arts Prize ­(Choral), Tyler Alexander Reeves.

Also, The Key Club International Award, Jess Lauriault Lackes and Eleanor Bryce Ward Smith; The Senior Speech Award, Emily Catherine Scribe; English Prize, Hannah Katrin Lidicker; Mathematics Prize, Erik Graham Hennigar; Science Prize, Yu Kan (Kevin) Chang; History Prize, Hannah Katrin Lidicker; Theology Prize, James William VanOrsdel; Foreign Language Prize, Hannah Karin Lidicker; Sons of the American Revolution Citizenship Award, Kevin Benjamin Miltz; and McLaughlin Principles of Freedom Award, Yu Kan (Kevin) Chang.

Headmaster’s List certificates were presented to: Andrew Bryan, Yu Kan Chang, Alvin Cruz, Erik Hennigar, Sarah Jones, Phillip Jordan, Hyun Soo Kim, Hannah Lidicker, Sam McLaughlin, Laura Ransone, Elie Smith and TJ Williams.

Academic Dean’s List certificates were presented to: Blake Atwell, Ha Raum Cho, Dong Kyu Eo, Larkin Epstein, Chase Jenkins, Young Woong Joo, Trenton Joyner, Jess Lackes, Matt Lawler, Carolyn Macaulay, Sam
Miller, Laura Nost and Michael Payne.

posted 06.03.2009

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.