Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

Academic honor society adds new members at RCC

RCC’s Alpha Lambda Omicron Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inducted the new student members above at the Glenns Campus on April 22.

On April 22, Rappahannock Community College’s Alpha Lambda Omicron Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inducted 55 new student members. The featured speaker at the event was Dr. Karen Newtzie, who recently retired from RCC’s full-time faculty, but still teaches as an adjunct faculty member.

In order to be invited to join Phi Theta Kappa, which is the official honor society for two-year colleges worldwide, students must maintain a grade-point average of 3.5 or better. Inducted into the society by faculty advisors Amie Schaumberg and Matthew Brent were: Andrea Gayle, Caroline County; Josephus Sotomayor, Essex County; Drew Anderson, John Forehand Jr., Shelby Gwartney, Diona Ormon, Christine Riddett, Tara Sinischo, Taylor Slozak and Amy Troxel, all of Gloucester County; Alexis Lassiter, James City County; Sarah Garner and Monisha Holmes, both of King and Queen County; Taylor Courtney and Tara Padovan-Hickman, both of King George County; Amber Brooks, Leigh Anne Custalow, Cassandra Gower, Elease Loranger, Portia Robinson, Sarah Sheffield and Adria Webb, all of King William County; Ronald Cutler, Sonja Dickerson, Jessica Fearing, Kendall Rosalia, Kenneth Savko and Laura Smith, all of Lancaster County; Anna Hudgins, Nathan Mayo, Shelby Miles and Samantha Rutter, all of Mathews County; Rachel Crews, Laura Episcopo, Holly Oliver, Terri Williams and Katie Willis, all of Middlesex County; Jennifer Berryman, James Giffin and Halie Maass, all of New Kent County; Jennifer Brewer, Jonathan Gall and Sarah Haynie, all of Northumberland County; Jessica Bronner, Amanda Fallin, Emily Gay, Abigail Goszka, Jennifer Houchin and David Keatts Jr., all of Richmond County; and Alexander Baughan, Rebecca Brown, McKenzie Conway, Kadera Lyburn, Breisha Smith and Shanetra Weldon, all of Westmoreland County.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is today the largest honor society in American higher education, with over 2 million members, and more than 1,200 chapters located in all 50 states, the United States territories, Canada, Germany, and Japan.

posted 04.30.2014

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.