Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

School News

Text sizer: Large | Small   

19 Grads from Glenns Campus Governor’s School

Members of the 2009 Chesapeake Bay Governor’s School Class of 2009 at the Glenns Campus include, front row from left, Nick Rowe, Danielle Martin, Lorrin Massengill, Melissa Baltrusaitis and Justin Thompson; second row, Seth Theuerkauf, Lauren Kiser, Samantha Floyd, Woody Stephens and Cody Voight; third row, Mark Hall, Steven Thompson, Epi Perez and Greg Dorsey; back row, Catherine Robertson, Molly Martin, Jordan Hurst and Ryan Speray. Not pictured is Erica Williams.

The Chesapeake Bay Governor’s School (CBGS) for Marine and Environmental Science Class of 2009 has 66 graduates. Of these, 19 attended the Glenns site. 

Members of the class as a whole have given over 2,800 hours of community service, with three earning Presidential Community Service Awards: two at the Bronze level for 100-249 hours; and one at the Gold level for over 300 hours in one academic year. 

To date the graduates have also been offered over $2.5 million in scholarships, grants and awards to pursue their future academic studies, with $1 million just at the Glenns site. 

Two graduates, Kyle Allwine of King George County and Nathan Rose of Lancaster County also graduated summa cum laude from RCC prior to graduating from CBGS and their home high schools.

Colleges the Glenns site graduates will be attending include: Melissa Baltrusaitis, University of Virginia; Greg Dorsey, University of Virginia; Samantha Floyd, Christopher Newport University; Mark Hall, University of Virginia; Jordan Hurst, University of Virginia (GA); Lauren Kiser, James Madison University (EA); Danielle Martin, University of Virginia; Molly Martin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Lorrin Massengill, George Mason University; Epifanio Perez, Old Dominion University; Catherine Robertson, Virginia Tech; Nick Rowe, Virginia Tech; Ryan Speray, Bridgewater College; Woody Stephens, SUNY Maritime (EA); Seth Theuerkauf, College of William and Mary; Justin Thompson, University of Mary Washington; Steven Thompson, Hampton University (EA); Cody Voight, Virginia Commonwealth University; and Erica Williams, Regent University. 

posted 06.10.2009

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.