Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News | PDF Access

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Webcam · Search

News



Text size: Large | Small    

Outdoor fires unlawful before 4 p.m.

Virginia’s 4 p.m. burning law went into effect on Feb. 15—the start of spring fire season in Virginia.  This law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each day (Feb. 15-April 30) if the fire is in, or within 300 feet of, woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials.

A violation of this law is a Class 3 Misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine.  In addition to the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the fire as well as any damage caused to other property.

“Because people are the cause of more than 94% of wildland fires in the Commonwealth, the 4 p.m. burning law may be one of the most effective tools we have in the prevention of wildfires,” said John Miller, director of resource protection at the Virginia Department of Forestry (VDOF).  “Each late winter and early spring, downed trees, branches and leaves become ‘forest fuels’ that increase the danger of a forest fire.  By adhering to the law and not burning before 4 p.m., people are less likely to start a fire that threatens them, their property and the forests of Virginia.”

In 2008, there were 1,322 wildfires that burned 25,704 acres of forest land in the Commonwealth.  This was a 12.4% decrease in the number of wildland fires compared to the number (1,509) of fires in 2007.  While the number of fires was down, the amount of acreage burned increased 130%when compared to 11,200 acres that burned in 2007.

Of the 1,322 wildfires last year, 28.6% were caused by people burning debris or yard waste; 14.6% were arson; and 13.4% were equipment use.  Other causes included lightning, people smoking, children playing, railroads, campfires, and the rest were classified as miscellaneous causes.

For more information on what you can do to protect yourself and your property, how to become “firewise,” or to pick up a complete copy of the Forest Fire Laws, contact your local office of the Virginia Department of Forestry visit http://www.dof.virginia.gov and click “Can I burn…?”

posted 02.16.2009

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.