Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search


Text size: Large | Small    

MHS graduation set for Saturday

Harvey Morgan

by Tom Chillemi

The 112 seniors of the Middlesex High School Class of 2009 will graduate on Saturday, June 13, in the John S. Clements Memorial Gymnasium in Saluda.

The ceremony begins at 10 a.m. and admission is by ticket only. Those attending must enter through the main gym entrance. Additional parking is in the field across from MHS.
Welcoming remarks will be given by senior class president Amber Holland.

Mark Hall has been selected by his fellow seniors to give the Senior Speech.

The diplomas will be presented by school superintendent Rusty Fairheart, MHS interim principal Rashard Wright, and guidance counselors Kathy Page and Anne Baltrusaitis. Assistant principal Susan Leggett will read the graduates’ names.

The senior recognition ceremony was held June 10 at MHS. Honor students were presented their cords; and scholarships and senior awards were announced. The awards and scholarships also will be announced during graduation.

Recipients of the school’s two highest awards—the Citizenship and Honor awards—also will be announced at graduation on Saturday.

Professional photographs of graduation, including each student getting his or her diploma, will be available online.

The graduation speaker will be Delegate Harvey Morgan, who is the longest serving Republican in the Virginia House of Delegates. Morgan has represented the 98th District since 1980. The district includes the counties of Middlesex, Mathews, Essex, Gloucester and parts of King and Queen and King William.

Morgan graduated from Hampden-Sydney College in 1952 and the Medical College of Virginia’s School of Pharmacy in 1955. He served in the U.S. Navy from 1955-57.

Morgan was a pharmacist for many years in Gloucester. He also was assistant clinical professor of pharmacy at the Medical College of Virginia/Virginia Commonwealth University.
In the General Assembly, Del. Morgan chairs the Agriculture Chesapeake and Natural Resources Committee. He also serves on the Appropriations, and Commerce and Labor Committee.

Del. Morgan chairs the Appropriations Subcommittee for Higher Education. He is a subcommittee member for Appropriations, Economic Development, Agriculture and Natural Resources; and Health and Human Resources. He also serves on Commerce and Labor Subcommittee Number One, and the Special Subcommittee on Energy.
Del. Morgan is married to Mary Helen Osborn and lives in Saluda.


Candidates for graduation include: James Edward Abbott, Michelle Dawn Aldridge, Kimberly Louise Ammons, Jessica Lee Anderson, Kristen Nichole Andrews, Jonathan Cyrus Babcock, Jennifer Lynn Ballard, Melissa Elizabeth Baltrusaitis, Kiersten Andrea Shanelle Baylor, Jordan Taylor Bristow, Brandon Marshall Broten, Elizabeth Lynn Brown, Joshua Henry Brown, Tyler Andrew Burch, Ashae Nichole Burnett, Jennifer Lee Burrell, Chad Ryan Burton, Kendall Janay Butler, Erikkah Christine Calamia, Jessica Brynn Callis, Casey Marie Campbell and Aaron Scott Carlton.

Also, Nathaniel Robert Chilcoat, Brett Christian Chodorov, Clint Curtis Clarkson, Amber Marlane Cobb, Clayton Michael Colley, Jessica Renee Craig, William Ruffin Creekmur, Jamie Renee’ Davis, Victoria Lynne Davis, Corey Allen Depping II, Gregory Dallas Dorsey, Alexandra Elizabeth Dunn, William Michael Eades, John Robert Edmister Jr., Jennifer Miranda Morgan Evans, Ashley Michelle Figg, Brian Jacob Fletcher, Sergey Vladimir Fomin, Kara Marie Fox, Tara Lee Grinnell, Kasey Nicole Haden, Mark Jacon Hall, Matthew Edward Hall, Robert Bailey Hall, John Robert Hatton III, Jasmine Shenine Henry, Ashlie Brooke Henshaw, Amber Ellen Holland, Kristen Lee Holt, Rachel Elizabeth Howton, Maurice Thomas Jackson, Kristin Samantha Jessie, Trevon Jerel Johnson, Brittani Shree Jones, Sierra Michelle Jordan, Markeya Day-Shawn Kelly, Anthony Lamont Key and Tonya Renee Keyser.
Also, Devon Michelle Killian, David Sean Lawson, Rachel Anna Lee, Evan Nathaniel LeFevre, Lamica LaShawn Lockley, Weldon Antonio Lockley, Katlin Marie Major, Christopher Thomas Mason, Lindsay Marie Matthews, Brandy Lee McCarty, John David Elliott Milby, Thomas Lee Milby, Devon Lee Miller, Brittany Kenyada Minor, Danielle Nichole Montgomery, Bryan Daryl Morning Jr., Zachary Gray Munson, Candice Riena Owens, Jarrod Michael Palmer, Arielle Michaelah Perry, Mona’ Ellise Peters, Brittany Lynn Powers, Alexander Kent Pratt, Jeffrey Stevens Prete, Kelly Major Purcell, Ean Mclane Woodhouse Reed, Katrina Arllyn Reed, Thomas Stephon Reed, Tiffany Marie Rexroat, Nigel Orlando Rich, Lamia Chardell Robinson, Laura Victoria Rogers, Matthew Roland Schein, Tanesha Denee Scott, Tiana Maria Serna, Gerald Seth Sheppard, Caitlyn Michelle Sibley, Courtney Marguerite Sibley, Kimberly Jaimie Kathaleen Sibley, Norman Monroe Sibley IV, Chastity Rae Stultz, Chelsea Elizabeth Stultz, Brittni Lynne Tabor, Justin Michael Taylor, Candace Michelle Tibbs, Carl Kendall Vaughan, Whitney Blaine Walton, Malcolm Rasean Ward, Savannah Leigh Williams, Brittany Marie Wood, Carrie Rebecca Worden and Christopher Brycen Wright.
Two foreign exchange students, Luciano Catanzaro Omati of Spain and Mario Kieselbach of Germany, will receive symbolic diplomas, but will return to their countries to officially graduate. 

posted 06.11.2009

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.