Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search


Text size: Large | Small    

Haley Revere, Bailey Pullman reign over 60th Oyster Festival

The royalty of the 60th Urbanna Oyster Festival includes, front from left, Little Miss Spat first runner-up MaKayla Bryant, Little Miss Spat Bailey Pullman, and second runner-up Tatiana Washington; back row from left, Queen first runner-up Emilie Smith, Oyster Festival Queen Haley Revere, and Queen second runner-up Kelleigh Seay.  (Photo by Tom Chillemi)

by Tom Chillemi

Haley Revere was crowned Queen of the 60th Urbanna Oyster Festival and Bailey Pullman was crowned Little Miss Spat at the Urbanna Firehouse on Friday, November 3.

As Urbanna Oyster Festival Queen, Revere received a $5,000 college scholarship. As Little Miss Spat, Bailey Pullman received $150.

There was a tie for the best community service project, so Revere and Kelleigh Seay each received a $250 scholarship.

Revere and her Little Miss Spat contestant Allison Duke worked to bring awareness of concussions and sports related injuries and to help supply proper medical equipment to better treat unpreventable injuries and ensure the safety of school athletes. 

Emilie Smith was first runner-up for Queen and received a $3,500 scholarship. For their community service project, Smith and her Little Miss Spat Contestant Annie Bray worked together to spread awareness of teenage depression and suicide.

The second runner-up for Queen was Kelleigh Seay, who received a $2,500 scholarship. Seay and her Little Miss Spat Contestant Ryleigh O’Bier worked to raise awareness of Congenital Heart Defect (CHD) and raised money for Waylen Cheatham to help cover medical expenses. 

Each queen contestant received a $500 scholarship for their participation. They include Tiarah Hayes, Kimberly Price, Macey Horne and Reilly Price.

Reilly Price also had the highest grade point average (GPA) for which she was awarded an additional $250 scholarship.

MaKayla Bryant was first runner-up for Little Miss Spat and received $100. Tatiana Washington was second runner-up for Little Miss Spat and received $50.

Other Little Miss Spat contestants include Claire Dise and Jocelynn Nester.

Read the rest of this story in this week’s Southside Sentinel at newsstands throughout the county, or sign up here to receive a print and/or electronic pdf subscription.

posted 11.08.2017

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.