Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search


Text size: Large | Small    

Christchurch School graduation is Saturday

Christchurch School will hold its 86th commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 31, at 10:30 a.m. on the Headmaster’s Lawn. Headmaster John E. Byers will be the speaker. A picnic luncheon for students, parents, families, and the entire Christchurch School community will follow.

This year’s valedictorian is Jack Morgan Roebuck, son of Ann and Steven Roebuck of Christchurch. Roebuck, who entered Christchurch as a freshman, will attend either the University of Virginia or Brown University.

There are 49 students in the Christchurch School Class of 2008.

Candidates for graduation are Samuel Adam Aldridge of Hamburg, Germany, Ashby Carter Arvin of Hartfield, Cory Sungjoon Balven of Arlington, Brenton Harris Bullard of Columbia, S.C., Kang Hoon Cho of Kyoung Ki Do, Korea, Sung Jin Cho of Seoul, Korea, Charles Landon Clark of White Stone, Lewis Bradford Cole of Atlanta, Ga., Charles McDonald Cowan II of Rhoadesville, Daniel Blaine Crouch of Warwick, Bermuda, James Martin D’Antonio of Wake, Hunter Kerns Edwards of White Stone, and Bennett Tompkins Ewing of Richmond.

Also, Samuel Max Goodspeed of McKinney, Texas, Alexander Charles Hagans of Mitchellville, Md., Peter Newton Hall of Atlanta, Ga., Michael Allen Harris of Urbanna, Martha Ragan Hart of Cologne, Scott Heric Heyman of Urbanna, Ryan Addington Holbrook of Weems, Justus Martin Huff of Columbus, Ga., Charles Frederick Johnson of Saluda, Joshua Ryan Johnson of Midlothian, and William Henry Mileur Jones of Ahoskie, N.C.

Also, Thomas Augustus Jordan II of Washington, D.C., Micah James Wesley Keller of Richmond, Seung Beum Kim of Kwangju, Korea, Clay Worthington Kinnard of Chadds Ford, Pa., Jae Han Kwon of Gyeonggido, Korea, Kyle Joseph Markley of Kill Devil Hills, N.C., Travis Claybrook Meyers of Urbanna, James Berkley Mitchell of Fredericksburg, Christopher Louis Mizelle of Ahoskie, N.C., Michael Jason Presutti of Wethersfield, Conn., Madeleine Elizabeth Przybyl of Hartfield, Kristen Edmunds Ramsey of Topping, and Julio Jesus Ravelo of Union City, N.J.

Also, Robert Douglas James Slatford of Irvington, Adam Carrington Smith of Richmond, Jae Yun Song of Seoul, Korea, Taylor Winthrop Stemerman of Potomac, Md., Matias Jose Urrutia de Teran of Santiago, Chile, Deion Patrick Walker of Christchurch, Jonathan David Walker of Hayes, Martiz Charles Washington of Hopewell, Austin Thomas West of Irvington, John Zachary Williford of Raleigh, N.C., and Matthew Colin Wolfe of St. Inigoes, Md.

Although the week preceding graduation is focused on final exams, there is also celebration. On May 27, the community gathered in St. Peter’s Chapel for the Underclass Awards and Rising Seniors Ceremony.

A baccalaureate service will be held at 4:30 p.m. on Friday, May 30, in St. Peter’s Chapel, with the traditional Senior Banquet and Awards Ceremony to follow. Following the banquet, seniors will enjoy a three-hour Chesapeake Bay cruise.

posted 05.29.2008

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.