Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

Community News



Text size: Large | Small   

Three stops on Gloucester-Mathews Historic House and Garden Tour

The Gloucester-Mathews Historic House and Garden Tour will be held from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday, April 21. This year’s House and Garden Tour in Gloucester and Mathews promises beautiful gardens and lovely and historic homes. Learn countless stories behind the artifacts, heirlooms and unique building materials of these three properties with magnificent river views on this driving and shuttle tour.

Auburn at 11 Old Auburn Road. Located on the banks of the North River, Auburn Plantation has been one of the architectural and historical showplaces in Tidewater Virginia for almost two centuries. Completed in 1824 by Dr. Henry Wythe Tabb, it is an impressive Federal-style mansion of three stories over an English basement. Symmetrical additions were completed to both sides of the home in 2005 blending seamlessly to the 19th-century structure. An outstanding wine cellar reflects the owner’s passion and incorporates pieces of stone from the Roman Coliseum, an old Tuscan villa, as well as “Hokie stone,” the limestone used in the buildings from Virginia Tech. Ancient trees shade the property which is landscaped with English boxwoods, azaleas, camellias and crepe myrtles. Spring bulbs and perennials add color to the gardens. Mr. and Mrs. Claude S. (Chip) Hornsby III are the owners.

Cottage Point, accessed via shuttle from Brent & Becky’s Bulbs. Located on the Ware River in Ware Neck, Cottage Point includes “The Studio,” the main house and a garage. The Studio was constructed in 1998 and was used as a weekend retreat until the main house followed in 2005. The 5.5-acre property was part of a 1642 land grant to Thomas Curtis and was part of the Lowland Cottage tract until 1972, when Mrs. Grant inherited it from her father. The Grants built the house on Cottage Point to take full advantage of both upriver and downriver views of the Ware. The
interior contains many works of art by Mrs. Grant’s grandmother, Hallie Taliaferro Montague, Mrs. Grant herself, and a number of her friends. A remarkable sculpture titled “Broken Banjo” by artist John Latell can be seen from the riverside. Mr. and Mrs. Willard S. Grant are the owners.

Dunham Massie Farm at 7420 Dunham Massie Lane. An ancient red oak and an American flag greet visitors to enchanting Dunham Massie Farm. The welcoming avenue of willow oaks leads past wildflower meadows and a pond created for wildlife. This inviting home was built in 1845 on a picturesque peninsula on the North River. General William Booth Taliaferro, Gloucester’s highest ranking officer in the Civil War, lived in the house and raised a large family there. The present owners, only the fifth family to have owned Dunham Massie, purchased the property in 1986.

Read the rest of this story in this week’s Southside Sentinel at newsstands throughout the county, or sign up here to receive a print and/or electronic pdf subscription.

posted 04.11.2018

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.