Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

Community News

Text size: Large | Small   

Miss Robbins crowned Queen of the Holly Realm

Holly Ball Queen Abigail Leigh Robbins is escorted by John Thomas Jackson as, in the background from left, Jessica Leigh Abbott, Oren Wingert Harrison III, Jessica Rose Vanecek and Ammon Gresham Dunton Jr. look on.

Miss Abigail Leigh Robbins of White Stone was crowned Queen of the Holly Realm on Dec. 27 at the Indian Creek Yacht and Country Club near Kilmarnock.

More than 500 guests were in attendance as 23 Northern Neck and Middle Peninsula area debutantes were presented at the 113th Annual Holly Ball, according to publicity chair Patricia Gallagher.

Del. Albert Pollard, orator for the gala event, crowned Miss Robbins with the traditional crown worn by past queens. She succeeds Miss Jocelyn Maguire Stephens of Irvington, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Randolph Wood Stephens of Irvington.

Miss Robbins is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Leo Stoneham Robbins. She was presented by her father and escorted by Mr. John Thomas Jackson of Weems.

Miss Robbins chose as her attendants Miss Jessica Rose Vanecek, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Fred Vanecek Jr. of Reedville and Miss Jessica Leigh Abbott, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Lee Abbott of Kilmarnock.  Mr. Oren Wingert Harrison III of Wicomico Church escorted Miss Vanecek, and Mr. Jonathan Carroll Somers of White Stone escorted Miss Abbott. 

Mr. Ammon Gresham Dunton Jr. was master of ceremonies.

The proceeds from the Holly Ball are dispersed by the Tidewater Foundation to charitable organizations, supporting education and youth in the Northern Neck and Middle Peninsula. Over the the past 10 years, the Tidewater Foundation has contributed some $247,000 to local entities. In 2008, the Tidewater Foundation made 31 such contributions, made possible by the proceeds of the 112th Holly Ball in 2007.

posted 01.07.2009

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.