Subscribe | Advertise
Contact Us | About Us
Submit News

Home · News · Videos · Photos · Community · Sports · School · Church · Obituaries · Classifieds · Supplements · Search

Community News

Text size: Large | Small   

Members of US Coast Guard Flotilla 62 awarded top honor

US Coast Guard Auxiliary, Flotilla 62 of Deltaville members include, front row from left, Dr. Matt Jaeger, Andy Paterson, Ron Simon, Steve Hutton, Bill Gieg and Robin Wells; middle row, District Captain Jim Clark of Station Milford Haven, SN Erin Kalinay, Susan McBride of Station Milford Haven, Eleanor Cash and Jim Englar; and back row, BM2 Matthew McGuire, Tom Hawksworth, Aldo DeCollibus, E.T. Minter, Danny Marrin, Michele Hutton and Bill Goettle. Not pictured are Fred Allder, John Bauer, Judith Brown, Lynn Burnett, Paul and Maureen Fairbrother, Allen Haywood, Rich Higgins, Stephanie Hutton and Robin Jaeger.

by Tom Chillemi

U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, Flotilla 62 of Deltaville, received the Flotilla Meritorious Achievement Medal for Recreational Boating Safety for constantly improving, finding new ways, and using a variety of ideas to promote boating safety to reach the boating public.

Flotilla 62 was further recognized by the Coast Guard for its maritime homeland security efforts by providing security operations at events, and operational, administration and logistical support efforts with on-the-water patrols, special on-the-water activities, and Coast Guard support missions.  

With its team effort of achievements, Flotilla 62 of Deltaville out-performed every flotilla in the division, said a spokesperson. “Flotilla 62 may be small in size but they are mighty, and sure know how to actively work together as a team!” said a Coast Guard spokesperson.

In addition, Flotilla 62 was among four flotillas that came together to support Operation CHIEF (caring, helping individuals, extending friendship) and they were recently awarded the Coast Guard’s meritorious team commendation “for exceptional meritorious service from August 2010 to April 2012 while serving on the CHIEF Team at Coast Guard Station Milford Haven. During this period, the CHIEF Team worked tirelessly at improving the surrounding living conditions and overall appearance inside and outside Station Milford Haven for the enlisted crew working and living on station.”

The Flotilla Meritorious Achievement Award is presented only once annually and only to one flotilla out of the 90 or so flotillas in the district. “This is a big deal, be proud,” commented Commander Steven D. Whitehead, U.S. Coast Guard.

The director of auxiliary, Fifth Coast Guard District for the southern region, said, “You have had an awesome autumn with awards coming like leaves falling from the trees from every direction,  from the FMA to Operation CHIEF to the parade float, which was an excellent way to pose the message against boating under the influence. You are doing great work, thanks to all. Way to go Flotilla 62, great job!”

Flotilla 62 auxiliary members receiving the CHIEF citation included Judith Brown, Eleanor Cash, Jim Englar, Maureen Fairbrother, Paul Fairbrother, William Gieg, Bill  Goettle, Tom Hawksworth, Michele Hutton, Stephanie Hutton,  Steve Hutton, Susan McBride, Emory Minter, Andy Paterson, Ron Simon and Robin Wells. 

Other flotilla members who received the award included from Flotilla 63 of Poquoson, Charles McLeod, Robin McLeod and Jim Powell; from Flotilla 64 of Gloucester, Rip Rowland; and from Flotilla 66 of Mathews, Ray Procopio and Jack Washburn. 

posted 11.21.2012

By commenting, you agree to our policy on comments.